07825 512566

Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

©2019 by Diadem Books. Proudly created with Wix.com

CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULT

Clicking on any book cover will take you through to one of our online retailers

auto.jpg

THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF ABLE GRUNTWHISTLE M.P. IN HIS OWN WORDS

Martin Miles

Set in England in the late eighteenth century, The Autobiography of Able Gruntwhistle MP is an exciting folk-tale of a pig who, through his own endeavours, combined with an element of luck, sets out to overcome adversity. Assisted by friends and attacked by his enemies, he weaves a story of hope, tragedy, intrigue and triumph, with plenty of humour thrown in for good measure.

FLIGHT OF THE LONGBOATS

Jane Willcox

An adventure story about a boy and his dog, Tutu, who, a thousand years ago, landed by mistake at the bottom of the world. Kahu is the son of the Chief of a peaceful tribe living on a small tropical island in the middle of the world. Their safety has been threatened by distant, marauding savages. Navigating by the stars, the Chief and crew sail away across the oceans to search for a safe place for the tribe to live. Guided by a friendly dolphin, they discover a fabulous Wonderland - a magic land of plenty. And best of all, NOBODY lives there. It is theirs for the taking but there isn’t time to prepare a proper migration. Evidence of the dreaded cannibal warriors preparing to attack has been discovered. They must flee!

flight.jpg
fairy.jpeg

FAIRY WORLD

Claire Roskilly

Follow Mimi's adventures as she discovers tiny fairies behind the rockery in her garden. An enchanting story for children.

THE ELF-WITCH CHRONICLES. PART FOUR: THE JOURNEY TO THE UNDERHRUSE

Helen Cardwell

After everything she went through, a carefree life in Ellehorn should have been a dream come true for Amber, but that is not the case. Regretting her decision to leave Mysterica, Amber grabs the chance to return to her old world when it is offered. Mysterica, though, is not the place she knew and with it on the verge of destruction, can even the legendary Elf-witch save it and those she loves from the gathering darkness? Can anyone defeat the ultimate master of evil? And will Raven's prophecy of death come true? In this final adventure Mysterica has never been a deadlier place to be.

elf witch.jpg
angela.jpg

ANGELA'S RETURN TO
RUM-TUM LAND 

Antony Stephens

The evil King Rum Tum is still on the throne but with Angela Bradbury back in his kingdom his time is short.
Angela Bradbury returns to Rum-Tum land to depose the evil King Rum Tum in this exciting and gripping sequel to Angela's Adventures In Rum-Tum Land. There, with the aid of the king's former pet cat, Turkish Van, Sir Tin Can, a wizard called Durakin and her old friend Mrs Salmon plus a 140-strong waxwork army, she sets about this task

ANGELA'S ADVENTURES IN 
RUM-TUM LAND

Antony Stephens

An exciting story of imagination, fantasy and adventure. The plot moves along at a fast pace and has many colourful and eccentric characters that will amuse children.

angela 1.jpg
nico.jpg

NICODEMUS AND THE FLIGHT OF ARGUS

Liz Mente-Bishop

As the glorious Mykonos sun mysteriously disappears behind a deadly swarm, Nicodemus knows he cannot make it in time! When he returns to his village to find death and destruction, Nicodemus has no choice but to climb aboard his trusted friend and companion, Ophelia, and fly off in search of the culprit—his archenemy Acantha!

MERLIN'S CRYSTAL: COMPLETE TRILOGY

Frances Pawley

It dropped from the wall like a giant fireside pussycat, but this was no pussycat, this was a black panther.  Its nose lifted upward, sniffing the air.  Stealthily the animal walked towards her following her scent, its powerful legs covering the ground in seconds.

 Knowing there was no escape, her instinct was to run.  Sylvie turned and with her best efforts she ran...."

merlin.jpg
big ted.jpeg

THE ADVENTURES OF BIG TED

Di Loveland

Come and meet Big Ted and join Polly and Peter as they listen to the stories of his amazing adventures!

THE ELF-WITCH CHRONICLES

Helen Cardwell

In this battle between good and evil, the author hasn’t lost her magical touch and proves once again that she has a special knack for weaving a fascinating and spellbinding tale of witches and wizards.

elf 2.jpg
narwal.jpeg

NARWHAL

Margaret Gill

A boy with ESP powers and a magic narwhal tusk set a remote Scillonian island aflame. A mystery thriller with a difference.

ERIC AND THICKPEA

Jill Martin

What happens when the only person you can trust is a rat?

eric.jpg
edrin.jpg

EDRIN'S QUEST: JOURNEY OF A SOUL

Dorothy Lewis

Edrin’s Quest is a story of magic and adventure for both young and old, set in small community of warlocks, living a gentle existence of life-magic, ruled by only one code, that of the Life/Love energy. From this tiny safe settlement in the mountain the boy Edrin is sent out on a near-impossible mission. For children it is an enchanting story, but older folk will be fascinated by the embedded life and spiritual lessons that it contains—for the tale is also an analogy, a parable, of Life.

THE WHITESTONE STORIES

John R. Barrett

The Whitestone Stories are the lost myths and memories of Britain’s prehistoric peoples.

whitstone.jpg
charlie.jpeg

ADVENTURES OF CHARLIE BONKER AT POTTAGE PIE

Mary Jane Pearce

Hilarious children’s animal adventure story based on the zany antics of a mischievous but loveable cat.

A GRAND DAY ON THE FARM

Robert Henry

Animal adventures on a farm. An illustrated Springtime story for children.

grand.jpg
paul.jpg

THE ADVENTURES OF PAUL SPARROW

Constance Haughton

Friendship, fun, adventure and danger are the ingredients in this book. In the tradition of Wind in the Willows and Winnie the Pooh, this is a children’s book written with humor and love which will delight all who read it.

CHILL OUT WITH BETH: GEMS FOR YOUNG AND OLD!

Beth Winchcombe

Chill Out With Beth combines an enchanting fairy story for children with poems that are gems of wisdom and insight relevant to both young and old in the journey of life. Writing of friendship, dreams, love and destiny, her overall message in is to be positive and to appreciate the wondrous gifts in our lives.

dunes.jpg

EXCERPTS FROM THE DUNES RANGERS' ALMANAC: ABRIDGED BY AN ANONYMOUS SCRIBE

Jack Breaker

An enchanting phantasmagoria about a group of animals that embark on a fascinating and surreal adventure.

HEY, MR BIG!

David Gasking

A father’s celebration of the short but busy life of his son who died in a tragic accident, aged eleven.

mr big.jpg
the battle.jpg

AMBER JANUSSON AND THE BATTLE    FOR THE MAGIC LANDS

Helen Cardwell

Once again magic and mayhem aplenty, as the precocious and irresistible teenage Witch, Amber, discovers she has yet again to fulfill her destiny and take a stand against the evil that threatens to engulf The Magic Lands. The surprising twists in the tale will amaze, enchant and tantalize the reader!

AMBER JANUSSON: PROTECTOR OF THE MAGIC LANDS

Helen Cardwell

Magic and mayhem aplenty, as a teenage Witch discovers she is in fact destined to save The Magic Lands from falling into the hands of an evil Wizard.

amber.jpg
mayreen.jpg

THE ADVENTURES OF MAUREEN & MAURY

Emelia J Hardy

This book is written for children of every age and for some adults—children that are faced with painful everyday obstacles that are hard to deal with by themselves.

THEY KILL BEARS

Lee Vernon

A 15-year-old karate-kicking girl must leave her home and parents in Europe, starting afresh in England with only her giant white dog as a companion.

beth.jpg
bull.jpg

BEWARE OF THE BULL: STORIES FOR THE YOUNG AND INCURABLY ECCENTRIC

Jennifer Morrison

Warning! These stories, for the young and the incurably eccentric, may blow every fuse in your mind.

THE BRAIN CHANGERS

Margaret Gill

"The Brain Changers is set in the technologically near future and the basic mood and thrust of the story is fantasy involving higher beings, magical interventions, and mystical philosophy. A good Young Adult story with well drawn characters.” —Ian Watson, science fiction author and screenwriter of Speilberg’s A.I. Artificial Intelligence

brain.jpg
grip.jpg

TRIO THEO IN THE GRIP OF TERROR

Polly Hinchliffe

Living in the hills of North Wales, in a small, ancient village, tales and legends are part of life, and a legacy to children—to children everywhere. So after years of repeated requests to retell the ghost stories the author finally wove them into a tale of her own.  (Age range 10--16)

RETURN OF THE QUETZAL

Margaret Gill

A ripping good yarn for teenage girls set in the Costa Rican Rain Forest. The linking of Meg’s, the heroine’s, exploration of Mayan culture and history with the contemporary problems of the Indians, gives the story an edgy, topical slant.   (Age range:  12--19)

return.jpg
rebirth.jpg

REBIRTH OF THE DRUIDS

Marchele E Tyler

Rebirth of the Druids is an enchanting tale of fantasy and romance that will grip the reader in its spell of magic and legend as it tells of how a young spellbinder helps to restore the balance of a tortured world.

TALES FROM TURNAROUND COTTAGE

Elinor Kapp

This is a book of highly original Fairy Tales, though drawing on universal themes. The book is set in a Magical version of Sussex, a County where anything can - and probably does - happen. Here the little River Flitter runs down from the High Weald, through Punnetts Town, eventually to join the sea in Seven Sisters Bay. Strange things happen to people who stay in Turnaround Cottage. It is a converted post mill, which has lost its sails. Now it has become a somewhat mysterious bed and breakfast venue, looked after by a newly retired health worker, Helena Brown. And the Mice. Don't ignore the Mice - generations of active, chatty, cheese-loving, philosophical Mice. Though the Mill's main purpose is long gone, the Winds, North, South, East and West, blow the old place around as if it could still grind corn. Now the Winds love telling stories instead and the place may well have just the tale you need, whether you know it or not. So, come in, come in! Turn the pages and find your own special story!

tales.jpg

TALES OF A COUNTRY MOUSE

Julie Black

Set deep in the countryside in Twizell Village lives a timid, goodhearted country mouse. She is happiest in the countryside and lives in a delightful, cosy little cottage. This little mouse will do anything to help anyone in need! She has many experiences, such as venturing out of her village to travel to the big bustling town for the first time to look after her poorly friend, the town mouse, where she is challenged to come out of her comfort zone. Also, we read about her first time on an aeroplane, losing her first tooth, helping deliver mail over the busy Christmas period, and many more adventures.

TALES.jpg